A positive path for spiritual living

Meet Our Board Members

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is an elected governing body that represents the interests of the congregation and participates in and supports the mission, vision and core values set forth by Unity of Gainesville. With a deep understanding and knowledge of the ministry purpose, this body upholds all duties decreed in the by-laws


Josephine Sherwood, President   
Email: grandmajoie@gmail.com

Jo serves as:

-A member of the Beautiful Grounds Team

-A Celebration Assistant

-Youth & Family Liaison (with Minister)

-'Thank-you' Letters to Major Donors Liaison

-Staff Liaison (with Minister)

-Sb'H Liaison (with Darlene)

Darlene Becker, Vice President 
Email: skylakedar@yahoo.com

Darlene serves as:

-Leader of the Sacred Safety Team

-A volunteer in New Journeys Bookstore

-Member of the Prayer Chaplains Team

-Congregation Liaison

-Minister Search Team Liaison

-Pastoral Care Liaison with Lavonne

-Sb’H Liaison (with Jo)

Lavonne Hoglund, Secretary 
Email: lahoglund@windstream.net

Lavonne serves as:

-Member of the Prayer Chaplain Team

-Member of the Sacred Safety Team

-Annual Deadlines Liaison

-Phone Tree Liaison

-Pastoral Care Liaison with Darlene

Cindy Balkstra, Treasurer 
Email: ngakats09@gmail.com

Cindy serves as:

-Leader of the Finance Team

-Fundraisers Liaison 

  • -Bookkeeping Liaison

-Celebration Team Liaison

-Celebration Assistant

Kay Hambrick, Member At Large 
Email: hambrick123@yahoo.com

Kay serves as:

-Volunteers Liaison

Kay is responsible for:

-The GIPL Grant

-The development of the Earth Care Team

If you are interested in board service or learning more about leadership opportunities at Unity of Gainesville, please leave a message for our president at 770-534-0949.